68/365 Coming Home (Alexandria, Virginia)

 68/365 – Coming Home

I took this picture while walking through my neighborhood today. The sight of the stars and stripes in the afternoon light struck me and left me with a warm feeling of familiarity.

I am a traveler. My wanderlust pushes me forward and my desire to understand and experience worlds different from my own, challenges and sustains me all at once.  The need to get out and explore is innate-as natural to me as breathing.

But there comes a point when all the planes, and taxis and hotels, and restaurants, and new people with different languages and customs -all the excitement and adventure just becomes exhausting.

And suddenly you want nothing more than to go home to the place where, even after years of being gone, it feels like no time at all has passed, and nothing has changed.

 

3 thoughts on “68/365 Coming Home (Alexandria, Virginia)

Leave a Reply

